Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

'MUTE' Cactus Jeep

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
theonewhoknocks polycounter lvl 6
Been working on a new project to challenge myself and model the interior and exterior of a vehicle. This is a concept from the film MUTE. Concept art is by Benjamin Last. https://www.artstation.com/artwork/LzOJk. Im not going for an exact copy of the concept, but certainly using a lot of the ideas from it.

I still have some adjustments to make to some of the proportions but I like how its coming along so far. A lot of the smaller details I am more than likely going to add in Substance Painter. Let me know what you think of it so far, and if you notice anything that needs to be fixed. I rendered this with RedShift. It's my first time using it, so the renders aren't perfect, but just wanted to get some progress up and going.

Replies

• theonewhoknocks
    Offline / Send Message
    Bakes came out pretty clean. Still got some more adjustments to make.
  • theonewhoknocks
    Offline / Send Message
    Playing around with textures. Still have a bit more to do, especially with the interior of the vehicle

• MarcoAntonio
    Offline / Send Message
    MarcoAntonio polycounter lvl 6
    oh well!! Looks fine. However, you should have worked more on it at the start. The first picture for example is a great base mesh, but I see a lot of details missing. Besides, some shapes are different and the proportions are not right enough.

This is just my opinion, but I would recommend you to stop and return to the base mesh. Try to get all details first and make a high poly as close as possible to the reference. That reference is your final goal. You have to nail it.

Just keep the hard work.  You can do it! :smiley:

• theonewhoknocks
    Offline / Send Message