Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Detective Case and Clown Bot: pixel art, mechanics and story - some kind of Post-Mortem (PART 1)

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Pina polycounter lvl 5
Hey there, fine people at Polycount.
My name is Filipe Duarte Pina and I am the creator of Detective Case and Clown Bot games. I am also the co-founder of Nerd Monkeys Ltd. I have been making video games for around 19 years but only started professionally around 12 years ago.

This post is a Post-Mortem on the art done for the 2 games of Detective Cases and Clown Bot, and how it all came to be. It is done in 2 posts / 2 parts and they should be read/seen in order.

Also, SPOILERS! If you haven’t played these games, don’t read or look at the pictures!
It spoils the games in such a way that you wouldn’t believe it! Like, TOTALLY!

Originally the idea was to do some sort of pixel art making-off but I had to include some history on the decision-making process, otherwise some things wouldn’t make any sense. (And because of that, expect lots of words in the middle of images!)

So, first of all, it is important to say that making video games is really hard, especially when there are constraints. My career hasn’t been an easy one and my art has suffered because of it. Still, I got to make the games I wanted within these constraints and they came out (almost) just fine.
Secondly, as you have probably noticed, I haven’t posted in Polycount since 2013! What a douche… My last engagement with this community was when we had a Dota2 competition for Character Sets. There is a reason for that and I will explain shortly.
And thirdly, it is important to acknowledge right away that, although I am the all-powerful “creator” of this series (easy there, ego), I could not have done it with a lot of people that I will definitely talk about. This means that there is a lot of art and animation done by me, but there is also a lot of stuff done by my colleagues and friends.