Home Career & Education

Are there 3D artist jobs in the East Coast (US)?

[account deleted at user's request]

Good morning
 artists from around the world :smile:
For some time now, I've been lurking in the shadows of this amazing website looking for posts about how to start one's journey into the 3D world, opinions about the industry and such. I thought it was about time I created an account here and posted topics of my own! :smiley:

A little background about me so you can understand my concern a bit better: I was born on an island on the Caribbean (latina background) and moved to the US (New Jersey) about 2 years ago (So I'm relatively new to the country still, though I believe I have adapted well). For a bit more than a couple of years now I have fallen in love with 3D Art, specifically Character/Creature Art and so I've been studying on my own for about 2 years (1 year I committed to learning anatomy well; and 1 year to learn Blender and how to sculpt nicely; my studies are still on-going) getting courses and tutorials online. I'm very passionate about art in any form (and love 3D), I learn really well on my own and I'm confident in my abilities to create [with time] a stunning portfolio. I'm not scared of all the amazing portfolios currently existing as I know for sure I can get there, and so they serve as a great inspiration to me! Also, I'm willing to shift job searching from Character to Props if need be.

A summary of the most important points [to me] that I learnt about the industry: the 3D industry is crowded by many people so it is not easy to get in specially if you are a newbie/junior; official education doesn't matter as long as you have an amazing portfolio; the majority of job openings are located in the West Coast (USA, CA) and Canada; you do have to network a lot in order to succeed.