Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My road to character design

kimarh
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
kimarh polycounter lvl 2
Total noob here. 
I recently started 3d modelling and I love it. Its freaking amazing. 
My goal will be to get as close as possible to proffesional level stuff. 
I will post WIP and what i learned through each step. All feedback is more than welcome, especially on my Notes (since I could have gotten the wrong idea and i dont want to build my knowledge and skill on a bad foundation.

WIP
My first project is going to be a game ready character for League of Legend (The water sculptur/artisan). 
 I want to take him all the way from idea to finished product with animations and everything (is this too wide spread? should I spent my focus on one or two proccesses?)

First model: The water sculptur/artisan.
What I learned: basic knowledge of the software and introduction to sculpting. 
Notes: use simpler shapes. Make all pieces from scratch. Finish all detail on one sub level before subdividing. Make good base topology at the beginning of the sculpt.
Learning the software. First concept. 

Replies

• kimarh
    Offline / Send Message
    kimarh polycounter lvl 2
    second model. The water sculptur/artisan. WIP
    What I learned: I need to learn UV and normal mapping. 
    Notes: Much cleaner shapes. Extracting 0 thickness objects into remesher and the topology brush create clean low polygon bases. 
    Really happy about buckle and swirley cloth concept.

Lowest sub level and poly view.
    Game res?
    Honestly I could use some pointers here. 
    polygons: 20k.
    What I learned: shrinkwrapping is cool. I really need to learn UV and normal mapping. 
    Notes: is this too simple? and is it ok? I made this with shrinkwrap and base topo instead of redoing topo from scratch. If you have a good base topology do you still need to redo topo from scratch?

• kimarh
    Offline / Send Message
    kimarh polycounter lvl 2