Home Technical Talk

PNG with metallic and smoothness - How can I edit (in PS) the two separately within one PNG?

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Bumper polycounter lvl 9
Hey all - so I'm stumped. I'm relatively new to Unity and am having difficulty getting used to using a PNG (format is client mandated) for metallic/smoothness. My PNGs are coming out of Painter which has combined my metal/smooth upon export.

I understand that the value AND transparency work together to affect metal/smooth. What I want to know is how I could go about editing/tweaking the two separately. I would MUCH prefer to use TGAs, where I could more readily access the color channels and alpha for editing independantly.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Replies

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    I doubt that the transparency "works together" with those. I believe it works the same as tga, and the transparency should do nothing, unless its grabbed by some another property of the shader. But even then it does't affect the metallic - smoothness maps. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong, I'm mainly not a Unity user, but I used it in the past several times.
  • Axi5
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axi5 interpolator
    Hi Bumper

In Photoshop, if you open your PNG and then go to:
    Layer -> Layer Mask -> From Transparency

It'll create an alpha channel on your PNG for you to play with.
  • Bumper
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bumper polycounter lvl 9
    Obscura said:
    I doubt that the transparency "works together" with those. I believe it works the same as tga, and the transparency should do nothing, unless its grabbed by some another property of the shader. But even then it does't affect the metallic - smoothness maps. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong, I'm mainly not a Unity user, but I used it in the past several times.