Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Dylan Young

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Duhlan polycounter lvl 5
Hey everyone! I'm Dylan, i'm a character artist in Australia. I've been on polycount for years but never posted much. Finally starting a sketchbook thread to share what I work on to polycount. Always happy for feedback!

Here's a character I did as part of Mold3d's Character Creation for Games class with J. Hill
I chose a concept by Alexis Rives and modelled, textured and rendered it over about 8 weeks.

You can see more renders, marmoset viewer and breakdowns on Artstation.

Replies

• Duhlan
    Offline / Send Message
    Duhlan polycounter lvl 5
    I just finished my entry for the Beneath the Waves challenge on artstation, first time entering any kind of art community challenge, had a lot of fun doing it and I'm already itching to do more! I wonder if it's too late to join the artwar challenge I see everyone posting about :tongue:

The concept was done by Hans Krill as part of the first stage of the challenge. I chose his concept because it had a fantastic silhouette and an interesting blend of cute and monstrous features. I kind of regret not picking something that really tested my anatomy skills, but I liked the design too much to pass it up.

See more renders, breakdowns, turntables, and the marmoset viewer on my Artstation page!

• Gannon
    Offline / Send Message
    Gannon interpolator
    These are dope, keep'em comin!
  • Duhlan
    Offline / Send Message
    Duhlan polycounter lvl 5
    Thanks! I've got another character I should be able to post in the next couple of days, just touching up the high poly a little.
    Spent last night integrating the pants with the rope and buttons, not quite sure about the buttons right now, i'll work on it a little bit more today. The hands too I've neglected since the blockout stage :p

• universe
    Offline / Send Message
    universe polycounter lvl 7