Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Feedback for my portfolio?

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
I've been designing stuff for quite a few years, but I've been too nervous to show anything really outside of friends until now. I'm hoping this is gonna be my year. I'm currently doing a 100 days of level design challenge.

https://oblivious212.artstation.com/

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Hey Robert, I'll throw a few things at you! Are you trying to make a new project for your portfolio every single day? I'm going to advise against that. Quality over quantity.

1) House in the field: The images which have the fence in the foreground look good. There should be something breaking up the trees in the distance as they get a bit monotonous. I think you should work on your vegetation a little more because I see a lot of flatness and lines in what is meant to be organic. Check out the drawing I did on one of your images. With the grass, maybe try a bit of rotation on your mesh so there isn't a really obvious line, or add some slightly curved trees. You don't really need this many renders of the distant house, I'd cut down on how many there are. I would give an up close render of the house in the field because right now I can't tell how well that was made.

2) R1D9: Delete this from your portfolio. Lighting is far too dark to tell whats going on. You can also tell you've used a lot of the same meshes.

3) These 2 images seem to be exactly the same. I like the composition. It would be cool if this was in the same project as R1D10 (the house in the field).