Home Career & Education

University- I want to become a 3D modeller, not an animator.

sophiam
vertex
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
sophiam vertex
Hi, I'm a highschool student and I'm trying to go to an art college/university. However, all they have are Animation courses which Isn't what I want to do. I want to be a 3D modeller/sculptor. Do I need to take a bachelor's degree of animation if I want to become a 3D modeller? Or is learning the programs with short courses & a good portfolio enough to get me a stable job? 

Also, this is what i am working on

++ I learned 3Ds Max/ Zbrush online and on youtube

Replies

• Barbarian
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Barbarian polycounter lvl 12
    " Do I need to take a bachelor's degree of animation if I want to become a 3D modeller?"
    No.
    Sign up for Pluaralsight and/or Gnomon Workshop for a couple of months and/or get  some eat3D DVDs and review some basic game modelling tutorials. Practice. Submit screenshots with wireframes. Get feedback. Rinse and repeat. Find reference for more complex objects. Submit screenshots with wireframes. Get feedback. . . .
    You do not need a degree for what you want to learn--you just need to practice (game-related modeling tutorials) and get feedback. At some point you will want to tackle UV layout, texturing, and then what your focus will eventually be (characters, environments, hard-surface models, . . .).

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Also, next time you want to take a screenshot of your screen, just use the Snipping Tool if you're on windows or hit "PrtSc."  That will do a display capture.

If you want to get a bachelor's degree for this, there are unis and colleges out there for this.  I'd imagine you'd want a list?
  • sophiam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sophiam vertex