Home Technical Talk

Need help with low poly modelling

marl_hiak
null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
marl_hiak null
Hello everyone. I need help with low poly modelling. Im new to 3d modelling. Im currently working on a lamp post. I would greatly appreciate if anyone is willing to teach me how to lay the edge flow. As for now im having an ngon on my mesh. And i would also like to ask if 2414 tris is good for low poly modelling? 

Replies

• marl_hiak
  • JordanN
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    For future reference, it's better to print screen or save out a quick render of your prop. Offscreen pics make it harder to see what you're doing, especially as from what I can see, your lamp post is heavily cropped out.
  • lotet
    Offline / Send Message
    lotet hero character
    "Lowpoly" really is a relative term. Polycount really depends on the camera perspective and target platform.
    for a mobile game this would be considering highpoly as fk! for a 3rd person game its probably fine, and for a FPS or VR game its way to low.

is this the base for a highpoly mesh? or your final lowpoly mesh? do you plan to bake normals?
  • marl_hiak
    JordanN said:
    For future reference, it's better to print screen or save out a quick render of your prop. Offscreen pics make it harder to see what you're doing, especially as from what I can see, your lamp post is heavily cropped out
    Thanks for your reply. Here is the print screen of the lamp post im working on. may i know what you mean by heavily cropped out.
    Is it the multiple object or is it because of the details? 

• marl_hiak
    lotet said:
    "Lowpoly" really is a relative term. Polycount really depends on the camera perspective and target platform.
    for a mobile game this would be considering highpoly as fk! for a 3rd person game its probably fine, and for a FPS or VR game its way to low.

is this the base for a highpoly mesh? or your final lowpoly mesh? do you plan to bake normals?