Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Woman Character

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
trancerobot polycounter lvl 7
This is my first woman (to get this far). Last time, it was in Zbrush and I never finished. This time, I wanted to avoid fancy programs and just model with subdivision surfaces in Blender.

The below is after 11 hours work. Lots and lots of references were used, but I'm hoping some of you will catch things I missed before I start work on the head.

When the body is complete, I'll model clothes, then start thinking about maybe using the fancy program to texture and bake a normal map into a game model. But right now I'm just interested in getting the form right. (Even though this will be baked, I'm still looking for critique on my edge-looping as well.)

Replies

• JLeeD
    Offline / Send Message
    JLeeD polycounter lvl 3
    Hey, good work so far! I'm not an anatomy expert, however your sculpt does still need some work. Study the body from all kinds of angles and lighting conditions (you can usually find some interesting reference on deviant art for different lighting conditions), there are things off with your model but I can't quite pinpoint them. Double check your proportions, measure your model by heads and make sure everything lines up. I would post up examples but I'm in a library and can't really be browsing nude ref X3
    Your choice to retopologise at this stage is interesting, generally I would say only retopologise once the high poly is finished. This is because you're going to add a lot more edge loops to the head as you go along and you could end up wasting a lot of time trying to preserve what you have or end up redoing it. Your model itself could change quite a lot as you work on it aswell, meaning you'd have to edit your topology anyway.