Home Technical Talk

Problem with Zbrush FBX export to 3ds Max 2017

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
M u r t t i polycounter lvl 2
Hello,

I am going through this tutorial at Pluralsight and trying to export my highpoly mesh Zbrush4R7 into 3ds Max 2017. I am following instructions in tutorial but the end result isn't what I expected. Could someone help me with this problem as I am just getting to know Zbrush and this is my first time I'm trying to export mesh to 3ds Max.
In the following pictures there are three steps:
Pic1: Original lowpoly model in 3ds Max which was imported to Zbrush. Now I am exporting highpoly model on the same scene as instructed in tutorial. 

Pic2: The end result when I have exported FBX file to 3Ds Max that was saved in Zbrush.

Pic3: Decimated highpoly mesh in Zbrush before exporting.

Problem: As you might notice from pic2 the scale is not the same with these models. Also all the sculpting done in Zbrush is lost and all the exported subtools are super smooth. In the tutorial scale is the same with these objects and exported mesh has all the details that were added in Zbrush. Before decimation the model had over 10M total points. I know this is a lot but after decimating it I ended up with 1,3M which is "okay" I guess. 

I have already tried to find solution from google but I am starting to lose my nerve with this. Help is much appreciated. Thanks!

Tutorial by Dan John Cox
https://app.pluralsight.com/library/courses/game-prop-texturing-fundamentals/table-of-contents

Picture 1:

Picture 2:

Picture 3:

Replies

• M u r t t i
    Offline / Send Message
    Now I tested if exporting works with smaller mesh. I created cone in Zbrush and did minor sculpting to it. After that I decimated and exported FBX. Even though this mesh was super simple I noticed that tris in 3ds max increased to 3m! How can this be possible? I guess the problem must be somewhere in my Zbrush settings...or in my sculpt.