Home Technical Talk

Help on creating a wide a treasure room full of gold.

Hi!!

I am new to populating a scene with a lot of small objects and I would like to ask suggestion and guidance from people in polycount on how to go about doing it.

I am trying to create a scene with a lot of gold coins and not sure how to go about doing it. I tried doing mash on a simple gold coin and populating it but I found it creates computer delay and sometimes error from maya. Is there anyway to recreate a scene like this without taking so much computational space? 

One that I think about is Ivy generators, but how do I do it with coins instead of leaves.

Replies

• LaurentiuN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LaurentiuN interpolator
    Is it for movies? or games ?
    If is for movies then with a particle generator you cand do it. Model a mesh and spawn 3d coins particles on that mesh where you want.
    if is for games then i think you should do it with a tiling texture and with some coins models here and there for exemple on the stairs you can add some 3d coins.
  • jRocket
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jRocket polycounter lvl 18
    I would not make a tiling texture because I don't think it would look as good as dedicated meshes. Make a few different baked low poly meshes, and lay them out around your scene.

If you only have a few meshes instanced around the scene, it makes it much more manageable to make your high poly in whatever way you want(mash, physics simulation, manual placement, ect.) 
  • WarframeZeeker
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    i want the quality like the movies or as close as realistic as I can. I will look up particle generators and see if I can use that. Thank you for the feedback S1dk and jRocket. I do appreciate it.

More feedback would be awesome.
  • JedTheKrampus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JedTheKrampus polycounter lvl 8