Home Contests & Challenges Archives Reallusion's 3D Character Design Contest 2016

Reallusion Character Design - Beco

vertex
Offline / Send Message
Beco vertex
Hello everyone,

For this contest I want to create a cyborg/punk type character that will be raging in the city. This character will have two weapons: a whip made of garland lights and a huge neon sign that she swings around and breaks everything. If there’s enough time left, I’ll also create some riot police to take all the beating. This is my first time building proper character, so I don’t really know how it ends, but I’ll do my best.

I call this project “Riot before Christmas”.

This is my Pinterest board for inspiration http://pin.it/h9RTonE

Replies

• Beco
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Beco vertex
    Finished building the base model.

Next is to turn this character into something that looks a bit more like a robot.
  • Beco
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Beco vertex
    This is a finished character’s body.

To make joint seams I used Blender and geometry of the exported model. I picked up some interesting edge loops and used bevel, then scaled those inwards and beveled outer edges again. Baked normal maps in xNormal and then combined them with the originals. Then I used Substance Painter to add barcode and other details.

I also installed new eyes.

Now I’m going to make some clothes. Not yet exactly sure what I want, so I’m probably going to experiment a little.
  • Beco
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Beco vertex
    I did a mistake while combining normal maps that resulted in a muddy face. Here is the fixed version.

• InfinityComplex
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    InfinityComplex polycounter lvl 5
    I really like the eyes. Cool effect. Love the android concept as well 
  • Beco
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Beco vertex

Thanks, InfinityComplex!

Update