Home General Discussion

Can a self-taught 3D artist get internship opportunity?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
skycity02 polycounter lvl 7
I know the artists that graduated from school have the opportunities to get internship at game companies. How about a self-taught artist like me gets any opportunities doing the same thing?  I don't mind being paid $10 a hour. At lease that money can cover the fuel and even the rent (I live cheaply). If there is no pay I am still willing to do it for getting experience. Is there any trick? Should I put I that I am looking for internship position in my cover letter. 

please help! 3d Masters.

Replies

• .Wiki
    Offline / Send Message
    .Wiki polycounter lvl 8
    You don´t need a degree from a art school to get a internship. You only need a portfolio!
  • ScoobyDoofus
    Offline / Send Message
    ScoobyDoofus polycounter lvl 19
    Happened to me, but I'd say don't do it for free. Get paid, even if a little. Work hard, learn as much as you can so the next job you get will pay real money or maybe they just hire you on full-time (again, like what happened to me).
  • almighty_gir
    Offline / Send Message
    almighty_gir ngon master
    entirely self taught here. this career line is 100% what you make of it. put in the work, study, git gud, and people will hire you.

a degree is only worth as much as your portfolio.
  • CptAlbatross
    Offline / Send Message
    CptAlbatross polycounter lvl 4
    A degree is just a piece of paper that might get you in the doors of some places. That in mind:
    -If that place demands you have a degree above a portfolio, chances are that may not be for you and the quality of work may not be the best.
    -The quality of your work is going to speak of your ability, not the school you may or may not have gone to. There are plenty of people I graduated with that couldn't cut it because they simply never improved beyond college.