Home Technical Talk

3DS MAX: Different UV Maps?

lecra
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
lecra polycounter lvl 3
All,

I'm new to 3ds Max and always having trouble to understand the UVW Unwrap methodology.
I'm modeling a barrel. This is made by two objects: the barrel & the cap on the top. I made the cap on the top as a separate object in order to not add additional geometry to the barrel. So now I have two objects and I want to have one UV Map.

Attaching the cap to the barrel would mean add additional geometry (to avoid ngons, tiangles etc.). Is there a way to manage this? I know this is a simple example, but what about when I'm modeling an interior scene and I have to unwrap every object?

Many thanks in advance for your answer.

Kind regards, Lecra

Replies

• Mossbros
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mossbros polycounter lvl 9
    You can add the unwrap modifier on more than one object, just select two.
  • Mant1k0re
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mant1k0re polycounter lvl 8
    I'm not sure I get it. One object can have as many different meshes as you want. Just use Attach to combine the 2 objects into one, and unwrap the result. You don't need to weld the 2 together.
  • lecra
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lecra polycounter lvl 3
    Thank you Mant1k0re!

Mant1k0re said:
    I'm not sure I get it. One object can have as many different meshes as you want. Just use Attach to combine the 2 objects into one, and unwrap the result. You don't need to weld the 2 together.

This means, that when I use the attach feature in 3ds Max it is not "connecting" the geometry of the two objects? Just only combining? I was of the opinion, that attaching would join two objects together and welding their geometry and perhaps creating ngons and tris.

Kind regards, Lecra
  • musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range