Home General Discussion

Trying to understand overtime hours in the industry

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
I am just getting into  3D. I am really interest to work in movies and games, just i am not sure which one to go. Just now, i am practicing hard surface modeling. I am posting this thread, just to get  to know you guys and to understand the industry. What i mean with this is.... how do you guys work so many hours at work? I read so many topics about working, more than 10 hours every day, for weeks even months. The day someone doesn't  work, is that when the project is over. Do i need to move to other studio or country or continent  when the project is done? Is full time job is not even possible in movie industry or in gaming?

When or if i  get to work in this industry, do i need to stay every day late at night? What if i leave... let's say after 8pm home, does my employer will yell at me or fire me?? 

Replies

• beefaroni
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    beefaroni sublime tool
    Pretty much everything Dustinbrown said is spot-on. There are definitely more family oriented studios out there that have a stable 9-6 (10-7) work-day. If overtime is expected or needed at a job, I would make sure you are being compensated in one way or another.

Also, I'd recommend listening to "Which Studio Is Right For You?
    http://gim.acanaday.com/?p=140

• Eric Chadwick
  • Super
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Super polycounter lvl 18
    Working late because you "enjoy" it is pretty sad and sets a terrible tone for a professional studio environment and should not be done as ultimately it distorts the market and harms everyone in the longer term. It's also mostly juniors that do it because they feel it's some kind of badge of honour or believe it will progress their career (which it doesn't). I've found there is more bad vibes from working late than not for those reasons.
  • Panupat
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Panupat polycounter lvl 15