Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Please Critique My Animation - Beginner

Rikkiimaru
null
Hi,

This is my first time here at Polycount. I plan to become an animator in the future and I would like to get constructive feedback for my work. I'm a beginner at animation so it definitely does not look professional.

Here is the link to my playblast:
http://syncsketch.com/playground/3594f67b32cf4227af3dc56b7cc6df28#72499

I've been working on this on and off over the course of 3 weeks.
This project is an exercise to having something interact with another object using parent constraint.
The facial expressions are what I'm currently working on right now and won't be shown in the playblast.

Thanks!

Replies

• Rmunday
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rmunday polycounter lvl 9
    Not a bad start, the main issue at the moment is timing. Everything is moving at the same time making it look very floaty. I believe it was @slipsius that gave the advice which I am paraphrasing here "Push it further than you are comfortable and then bring it back". The grabbing of the cup can really be pushed for the grab action. Make it super snappy, so fast it would blur and then show some follow through from the momentum. I think as a start go back to your main poses and really exaggerate them. You have some really good ideas here, with some timing adjustments, key offsetting and adding overlap and follow through this could be an excellent piece for you! 

I do not have the time at the moment to do a full draw over for you but I am sure someone maybe able to give you some more in depth feedback. Keep going and nail the basics and you will be well on your way to becoming a good animator!
  • Rikkiimaru
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rikkiimaru null