Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Formula Future - WIP

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
RipperSplitter polycounter lvl 5
I'm currently in my last year of university and for my final year assignment I will be creating a concept model of how a Formula One car may look in 10 – 20 years time. Using reference images of current and past Formula One Cars as well as any images of future concepts. Part of this assignment requires me to have critique from industry forums, so any and all critique you may have will be appreciated! 

I have already established an Imgur album full of reference images I have gathered, this will be updated as I find new content that is suitable for the project. In the album there are included images of current spec Formula one cars, screen shots and vehicle designs from Wipe out, birds, planes and different aerodynamic shapes.

I have been looking into aero-foil designs as a formula one car is basically an upside down aeroplane in terms of aerodynamics, everything is just flipped to provide down-force instead of lift. The above image demonstrates what wing designs provide the most lift and speed, so I will be incorporating this into my car designs. Using the references I have already designed the front and rear wing of the car. 

Using these I produced the first of my blueprint concept drawings. 
My Lecturer and Project Supervisor suggested that the section where the body of the car blends into the nose was to wide and needed to be skinnier for aero-dynamics. He also pointed out that "Curves doesn't make it futuristic" when referring to the rear wing, so that was made slightly bigger and squared off.
As well as this the FIA are currently planning on introducing closed cockpits to their future car designs. So I have incorporated this into my design, I feel that the canopy will have a small grove running through the centre of it. This (in theory) would help to channel air into the intake that is located just above the drivers head.