Home Technical Talk

A rookie in need of advice about joining objects together- can you help?

Hello lovely people of poly count,

I am new to the world of 3d of modelling and in need of advice. I am using Maya to create items/objects. My question is in regards to combining objects togther. I am following youtube tutorials and have noticed that in some tutorials, the "tutor" doesn't join the vertices of the 2 objects they want to put togther, they just press the "combine" button and then the object becomes 1. Now is this the "right" way of joining 2 objects togther or do you have to join vertices togther?

If this makes no sense, please check out a youtuber named Mike Hermes, who makes great tutorials, but he does this "combine" quite a bit and I'm not sure if its correct or not (btw Mike Hermes I love your tutorials, please do not be offended). Some tutorials, like those by youtuber James Taylor, go to great lengths to make sure they join the vertices of both objects togther so this confuses me as to which way is correct.

My overall goal is to create assests for videogames. Thought I'd add that, incase it makes a difference. Please can you help guys.

Thank you for your time.

Replies

• PyrZern
    Offline / Send Message
    PyrZern polycounter lvl 12
    ... It depends ??  Game objects don't have to be 1 whole solid mesh... An arm could just overlap with shoulder and with the body if there's a shoulder pad covering the gap. (though usually these days arm and shoulder and body would be all in 1 piece... but again, it depends on the character) Neck doesn't have to be connected to the body if the shirt collar is high enough... Etc... 
  • AtticusMars
    Offline / Send Message
    AtticusMars greentooth
    Couldn't you have just linked to the youtube video with the section in question?