Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Previous monthly challenge

Hello there, as I'm currently studying 3D Art, I searched for previous art tests to improve myself.
This concept was given in the monthly noob challenge in february.

(Artist - Yuriy Georgiev / http://windmakerart.blogspot.com )

I decided keep it quite simple (concerning trianglecount and texturing).
This is what I got so far:

Most of the used textures are handpainted by myself, trying to achieve a semi-realistic-stylized art style.

Any critique is welcome, especially how to create the wet look.

Replies

• dGreenberg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dGreenberg polycounter
    Hey Voroldryn, one thing I noticed with your scene (since I have the same problem myself when texturing) is that it could really use some material separation (or dirt) to make things look less flat, and a little more realistic. With your scene having a lower poly count, adding a little bit of grunge to the texture can really help push things further. 

I'm not sure if it's intentional to the style, but the well roof area is a little larger than the concept. Some of the buildings in the background also seem a little off scale, but maybe it's the camera's focal length? It's definitely coming along though!

For the wet look, have you tried playing around with any specular / metalness maps, or reflectivity? Do you use Photoshop for your textures, or is there another program you like to use?
  • Voroldryn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi DGreenberg, thanks for your feedback!

I actually didn't try to copy it exactly as it is, then I would have made it a highpoly scene (but it is true nontheless, I didn't give too much attention to the exact measures).
    Initially complete tileable textures were planned (using a greyscale map) on all models. I cancelled that due to complexity (more time-consuming) but it would have created better texture quality.
    The camera's focal length is definitely an issue!