Home Technical Talk

3D software for beginner

fai
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
fai polycounter lvl 4
hey, my first post here.
before I go into my question, just wanna say that this isn´t meant to be a classical 'which 3D software is the best'-discussion. I know only the outcome counts, not the tools used.

I´m a complete beginner concerning 3D. I mainly focussed on 2D illustrating and concepting in Photoshop so far. now I want to learn 3D. Currently I´m learning Maya 2016, which I´m slowly but more and more getting into and I like it so far. but I always have a feeling of maybe missing something in another 3D software. My goal is more pure modeling, not so much animating (yet), I think this is an important part.

My information so far is that Maya is really good in the animation part, 3ds max in the modeling part, cinema4d very user friendly and good for beginners (easy to learn) and Modo really up and coming (personally I think Modo looks really interesting).

What would you suggest me in my situation: sticking to Maya, which is the industry standard at the moment if I´m correct (which is an important factor for me) or ..? It´s just a bit overwhelming information on what is good for which part and what will be big in the future (like Modo maybe) for a beginner.

I personally believe sticking to Maya for the beginning wouldn´t be a bad choice, but maybe I´m wrong.

Any tips?

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• vertex_
    Offline / Send Message
    vertex_ polycounter lvl 7
    Yes, you're right - just stick to Maya for now. I'm a 3ds Max user but you're better off becoming an intermediate modeler in one application before trying to learn both.

When you feel comfortable with Maya, learn 3ds Max. Both applications are widely used in the game industry (we use both at our studio).
  • Panupat
    Offline / Send Message
    Panupat polycounter lvl 15
    What's the goal you have in mind? Do you want to work in the industry? Any subjects you want to focus on?