Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Student Portfolio Critique

Hi guys, I am looking for some feedback on my current portfolio. I am mainly focusing on level design and narrative but would love some pointers for general games design. Thanks!!

http://tomhughes94.wix.com/tomhughesleveldesign

Replies

• RobeOmega
    Offline / Send Message
    RobeOmega polycounter lvl 10
    The general mood here is that you should not use Wix as a site to host your portfolio. It is often over bloated with features that are not needed that make it slow. For a good free alternative try Artstation.

https://www.artstation.com/

• Tom2409
    Thanks, will Artstation actually be useful for a level design point of view, or just for an artist side? Just as I have never used it before.

Thanks again.
  • aaronmwolford
    Offline / Send Message
    aaronmwolford polycounter lvl 8
    Artstation is great for any type of game development portfolio and has a great community. I personally use Dunked for my main portfolio and use Artstation as a separate source for my content. 

http://dunked.com/
  • ozzy310
    Offline / Send Message
    ozzy310 polycounter lvl 8
    I use carbonmade.com

Its free and fast with a small modest logo of the company on the corner. Downside it doesn't have many features, but since its for a portfolio it has enough to make a proper site to display your work. 
  • Tom2409
    Thanks guys! I shall put some of my stuff up on Artstation then! Get as much out there as possible, what did you think about the content?
  • Shrike
    Offline / Send Message
    Shrike interpolator
    Wix is slow but it has clearly the most freedom from all builders i tried and that were many.
    Still id likely recommend carbonmade as it always looks good no matter how hard you mess up