Home Technical Talk

How should I texture character's hair?

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
DanaosC polycounter lvl 5
Hello everyone!
I decided to post as I believe here's the place I got the biggest chances of a good answer.

I'll cut to the chase, I want to texture my character's hair. Previously I was doing it by hand, meaning with PS I layed out the shadows, midtones and highlights and then make an alpha map. This time though I got so many hair strands (planes) and doing that would take A LOT. I imagined there should be another way.
Here are some shots of my character.

Here are the UVs of them (I also have some other stuff unwraped but detached them for the pic), not sure if that's the correct way of laying out hair.

As you can see painting them by hand would take hours and hours, I believe it's a waste unless there's no other way.

I am quite new to the 3D world so anything you have to say is really welcomed, thanks a lot!
Cheers,
-Dan

Replies

• velesius
    Offline / Send Message
    velesius polycounter lvl 11
    Hi! First of all you should reduce number of UV chunks, don't afraid to overlay them. There is no need to have dozens absolutely unique hair cards. Also, best looking hair you can achieve by using many (hundreds) hair planes (cards) with thin hair strands painted on them. This technique allows you to hide separate hair cards.
  • Makkon
    Offline / Send Message
    Makkon polycounter
    Make your hair textures first, you only need a few variations. Map all your UV islands straight, and overlay them.
  • thomasp
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    having a few straight UV islands/hair texture variations like makkon said is the first step. also lay them out so they are facing in the same direction, root to tip. helpful to control highlight direction when applying a hair shader using anisotropic highlights.
  • DanaosC
    Offline / Send Message