Home General Discussion

Jonathan Hardesty takes a photo of his drawing for over 9 Years

quad damage
Offline / Send Message
littleclaude quad damage
Jonathan Hardesty's 9 Year Journey From Novice To Master Painter

It's pretty epic so I thought I would share.
[vv]29510470[/vv]

00b20bf793fc4fa6f9961f848fa67e05.png

Replies

• claydough
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    claydough polycounter lvl 10
    talent = interest!

In college I have seen students with no drawing desire or ability who were forced to fulfill the class requirements ( jewlry, printmaking etc... ) that under the right Professor ( namely my chief mentor Mark Karnes @ MICA ) reached this level of talent from the same immature base within 1 semester!

Made obvious the only downside I see from being self taught?
    Learning to see honestly and to be able to critically access ones work can progress in an amazingly short amount of time under the mentor-ship of a dedicated amazing teacher.

After witnessing such metamorphosis I would never assume anyone could not become amazing at drawing if they at least put in an honest effort.
  • Segreto
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Segreto polycount sponsor
    I remember following this guys thread over at conceptart.org ages ago... It was an inspiration to see someone change their skill so dramatically over time.

Here's a link to it if you're curious: http://www.conceptart.org/forums/showthread.php/870-Journey-of-an-Absolute-Rookie-Paintings-and-Sketches
  • PollySong
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PollySong polycounter lvl 14
    Interesting. I had a classmate when I was about 16-18 that just couldn't draw and didn't make any noticeable progress despite drawing 24/7, but when I found him om facebook 10 years later he was incredible. He apparently didn't give up.

On a sidenote: Hardesty didn't change his beard, haircut or glasses for nine years?
  • MM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MM polycounter lvl 17