Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio work/WIP/Doodles - PatTl92

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
PatTl92 polycounter lvl 6
Hello, fellow art peeps.
Need to push my personal work and create some portfolio pieces.
So I hope you guys give me some feedback for my work :)
____

A Character I created in my spare time, mainly to learn texturing with Substance Painter. Worked quite a while on that character and learned a lot about PBR and Painter.

HFrjnEO.jpg

11Wt8wp.jpg

7Z3F01q.png

Marmoset Viewer on ArtStation

C&C more then welcome.

Replies

• oreoorbitz
    Offline / Send Message
    oreoorbitz polycounter lvl 9
    Ok, so take what I say with a grain of salt, since I'm still learning to texture myself.

1. I would add more contrast. For instance the undersuit doesn't really stand out becuase the metal has a blueish grey tone to it, and the blue of the suit looses pop. The same with strap and the cargo pants.

2. I would add more medium size details to the metal plates, like the theigh plate. Like bolts, or lines, or grooves, it should be realtivly easy to do with substane painter.

3. I would add more dirt on the shows, as that would logicly be the place where it would accumalte the most.

Again, grain of salt.

Despite all that, I think it looks great. I know how hard to make a finished character
  • PatTl92
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey, oreoorbitz,

1. I tested different colors during texturing, and then came to this more greyish blue. And I think I liked it because of the low contrast between the different parts.

2-3. Didn't want to rely to much on small details or scratches/dirt to make it look interesting.
    Wanted this one to be more clean.

Thx for your grain of salt :)
  • clinington
    Offline / Send Message
    clinington polycounter lvl 10