Home Contests & Challenges Archives Reallusion Game Character Animation Contest

RGCA - Character Animation - Retrosleep

-Introduction-

Hello Polycounters, or whatever you want to be called. My name is Tom Palumbo aka Retrosleep. I'm an independant cartoonist/2d animator who is taking a leap into 3D with this contest.
Last year I entered Reallusions CTA2 Contest and won second place with my animated cartoon. I can only hope to dazzle my peers and judges once again in this comp!

-Project Synopsis-

I intended to create and rig my own character and then converting it to work in Iclone v5.51 as a non-standard character through 3DXchange. Then I will be using Iclone to animate a Super Smash Brothers style'd moveset for my character.

-What this thread will be covering-

In this thread I will be focusing on my animation workflow, using Iclone and a little bit of character design.
I won't be going into detail on modeling, since that's not what this contest is all about, and you def do not want to learn how to model from me.

-Step by Step by Step-

This is the order I will be progressing through the project.
  1. Character Concept Art
  2. Weaponry Concept Art
  3. Sketch Key Poses for each animation
  4. Use Key Poses to make an Animatic of each attack/move to be used as a reference
  5. Model Character
  6. Get Frustrated
  7. Rig Character
  8. Get Frustrated
  9. Import into Iclone through 3D Xchange
  10. Animate!!!!!!!!

That's it for the introduction post, in my next post we will begin designing our character. In my case re-designing since I'm going to build off an old character concept I never did anything with.

Though to make sure this thread isn't just a huge wall of text I'll post my current design W.I.P

tumblr_nnnp4cZfYr1tq3nlco1_1280.png

[This is The Cat Knight a human who was wisked away to a magical land ruled by kitties. He is forced to play the role of a hero when they bestow to him the legendary sword ExCatibur.]