Home General Discussion

Guilty Gear XRD, is there a way to view assets?

AlcopopStar
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
AlcopopStar polycounter lvl 4
Hello Forum!

I'm a pixel artist from Australia looking to dip into some digital illustration and just a fan of drawing and games in general.

Folio|Twitter

While not much of a 3D kid I absolutely adore the Guilty Gear XRD art.

I also think its actually a really powerful resource, it shows these highly stylized anime figures in some of the most successful 3D i've seen. No easy feat considering how nonsensical anime construction can sometimes be.

I am absolutely dying to take a closer look at these suckers to deconstruct their anatomy and design in full rotatable 3D.

My issue being and (TL:DR) um, how do I get my hands on the models? is it possible? I'm a little 3D illiterate as well so how complex would it be?

Please be nice! i'm new! Peace.

Replies

• Stranger
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stranger polycounter lvl 5
    Im going to say no, I dont think its even legal to rip models from a console game. but i dont know much about it. so take that with a grain of salt.
  • JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    For what it's worth, Arc Systemworks made a presentation that does everything you're requesting. This includes doing a live demo showcasing one of their 3D models used in the game.

www.youtube.com/watch?t=21&v=yhGjCzxJV3E

Skip to 13:03 and he shows the model + wireframe

4gamer also did a featurette that showcases all the models used. It's in Japanese though.
    http://www.4gamer.net/games/216/G021678/20140703095/
  • ambershee
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ambershee polycounter lvl 17
    Stranger wrote: »
    Im going to say no, I dont think its even legal to rip models from a console game. but i dont know much about it. so take that with a grain of salt.