Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Looking for feedback on character models

Hi everyone! I'm a fairly inexperienced 3D artist working on an immersive language learning game. The team is very small, and we thought using a low-poly style would be more efficient for generating content. However, since the focus of the game is communication, we want the models to have enough detail to show facial expressions.

I feel like they could still use some work, but I'm having a hard time figuring out what to focus on. I'd love to see any feedback you have on the style or execution of the models.

Thanks!
[SKETCHFAB]31d955e3a8be42a08ae071f5654eee6e[/SKETCHFAB]
gabriel-culbertson-shapely01.jpg?1433712437
gabriel-culbertson-shapely02.jpg?1433712439

Replies

• GabeC
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I've been working on the textures for the face and expressions. I'm still looking for any feedback that people have. :)

gabriel-culbertson-emotion01.jpg?1433628576
    gabriel-culbertson-emotion03.jpg?1433628578
    gabriel-culbertson-emotion04.jpg?1433628580
    gabriel-culbertson-emotion05.jpg?1433628581
  • TomGT
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TomGT polycounter
    Right off the bat I notice some of the shading makes the skin look crumpled, making an odd aging effect on the character especially beneath her eyes. Take a look at how eyes are shaped in real life and also in anime/cartoon. The outlines underneath the eye are usually much subtler.

The skin texture needs to have more values in it to make it appear livelier. Areas like the nose for example have a much redder tone compared to the rest of the face. The cheeks also usually have a subtle blush on them. Try to use a subtle blue/red when shading as opposed to creating black shadow areas to achieve this effect. (Take a look at any picture of Elsa from the movie).