Home Technical Talk

Creating "Comb" maps

Replies

• Maph
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Maph polycounter lvl 8
    Mike: Hahahahah, no, you really don't at this point in time. :D I'm a terribly messy coder at the start of projects.
    In any case, it's just a tweaked standard Kajiya Kay specular powered to some factor and then smoothstepped to control the sharpness.

Funkies & Haz: I'll try and get an alpha version out soon. There are still some scenarios I need to test out and add some more general features like tweaking the shading model of the hair, add linear color space support, shadows, fake translucency, etc...

CW: Thanks! Interesting thoughts on using splines to define tangent direction based on geometry, but that leaves a lot to be desired when it comes to workflow then being able to just paint it. The latter case wont't be 100% correct mathematically of course, but if it looks good, it is good I always say.
    But I dunno, trying to crack this nut is going to be tough one for whoever takes it upon him/herself!
  • Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12
    Nice one Maph!

If you don't mind me asking, what terms are you using for the Diffuse and Specular? If you plan in making the light information Normal Map dependent, as opposed to a single channel a la Kaj, then I suggest Adding the Tangent and Normal Map and Normalizing them, or just ditching it totally and going with a generic Aniso setup instead, it will cost 4 instructions more, but it won't 'glance' the highlight at angles.

Also, how do you plan on keeping the 'sharpness' of the highlights in a tweakable manner? I tried using a Smoothstep, but even at 'open' values, it dulls my highlight and makes it slightly smaller, did you find a magic formula?

Also, do you plan on using a Half-Lambert term for the Diffuse or go with a full SSS?