Home General Discussion

Can you liveoff freelancing? - tips welcome

Kakarot666
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Kakarot666 polycounter lvl 5
Hello there polycount,

I'm a jr level artist who gets the attention by indie studios quite often (must be luck of some sort) to get work, and I did some freelancing gigs. So my question is for current freelancers that are living out from it, and I know this topic was mentioned couple of times I read all of them, but maybe there are some that are doing it for the last 6 months or so and would like to share a few tips.

What I know is livingoff the freelancing can be really tricky because of building the client base can be slow and time menagment is a key. Should I just get every possible job and work with 5+ clients at the time? Because what I'm afraid of is not being able to meet the deadlines by an individual client.

My main goal is to be hired by a studio, and freelancing is just a way to back up my portfolio with some acuall experience in the industry.

Thank you for spending your time reading this/replying.

Cheers,
Martin

Replies

• ambershee
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ambershee polycounter lvl 17
    I'm living off freelancing, but I would probably consider myself to be at the top end of that market. I can earn a very decent amount of money in a short time if I put the hours in. I'm just wrapping up a six month contract, and I now intend to spend the next two or three months traveling and working on personal stuff off the back of that.

My advice would not be to juggle multiple clients and try to stick with having one at a time - if the work is coming in slowly, you can possibly manage a second. Too many jobs at the same time disallows you time to focus on any single task and runs you at risk of not being able to deliver for all clients.
  • almighty_gir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    almighty_gir ngon master