Home General Discussion

Do you ever think of making an impact on the world as an artist?

unit187
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
unit187 polycounter lvl 9
I am a 3d artist. I do all kind of 3d models, get paid, do more models, get another paycheck, it's all good but sometimes I can't shake off the feeling that my job is somewhat pointless. I mean, look at NASA or SpaceX engineers. Those people do extremely hard work, but they literally open new horizons for human race. The scientists push today's technology further than ever.

But how can we, computer graphics artists can change the world? Not big change, but still - how to make an impact? Sure, some will say that people need to rest and relax, so making games or movies for them is nice, but lets admit that it is sort of BS. There are tons of fun activities that are in fact even better (and/or healthier) than games or movies.

Someone might say - why not do science then? Well, I am in late twenties and dumb enough to not to be able to do real science. I like robotics and A.I. but no way I can do that being stuck at high school math, so it is not an option. Anyways, the question remains - what can 3d artist do to make an impact? Your thoughts?

Replies

• NegevPro
    Offline / Send Message
    NegevPro polycounter lvl 4
    The biggest impact artists make on the world (in my opinion) is inspiring other people. Art is necessary in the modern gaming world and thanks to gaming, I've obtained so many great memories. Some of the people I talk to the most are people I've met playing Counter-Strike online 10 years ago. I know plenty of people who would be suicidal without gaming, and I even have Steam friends with autism that can only communicate with other people over the internet through videogames.