Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My Showreel

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
MasterJV polycounter lvl 3
Hey everyone,

My name is Julian and I'm new to all this, I've been lurking around polycount forums for a while now and thought it's time to be part of the community. I'm a student currently working on my final year as a 3D Artist at SAE Institute. I'm basically doing a 3/4 year course in 2 years, so now I'm on my 2nd year.

I'm really wanting to get into the game industry as a prop/environment artist, I've just recently finished my showreel that contains all the work I've done so far in college/uni and figured this is the perfect place to get feedback and criticism.

Here is my showreel: [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5S0tsBUyDUI"]Julian Vermeulen - Showreel 2013 - YouTube[/ame]

Replies

• JoshVanZuylen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JoshVanZuylen polycounter lvl 5
    Hey man, looking good. There was one point where the camera stops moving... I wasn't sure what was going on. I did really feel that's the weakest point, mainly because it lacked the moving dynamic that the rest have.

Of you really wanted to get that angle and nothing else, may I suggest a slow zoom?
  • MasterJV
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the feedback. To the point where the camera stops moving, do you mean the last clip where the camera moves up and stops, overlooking the castle?
  • Snader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15
    Is this some of the default Windows music? I'm not sure if that's allowed to just be used by any project.
  • DWalker
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Overall, showreels aren't that useful for game artists other than animators and effects artists. As an environment artist, you're working with static objects, and so a static format will allow you to better show everything you can do. Concentrate on creating a good portfolio with solid still images of your work.