Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Division inspired character WIP - Linda Fyen

Hey everyone!
I'm a game art student at The Game Assembly and we have just started our Advanced Project Productions course. It's a 6 week long course where we work on individual projects with supervision from our teachers. Other than that, we need to hunt for feedback and sources on our own.

I'm an aspiring character artist, so I chose to make a character that would fit in Tom Clancy's The Division or something with a similar setting/design. Since our project is divided in two parts, 6 days each, I have planned to make the high poly the first part and, if it's good enough, proceed with the low poly and texturing the second half. If not, I will be doing the highpoly through the whole project.

This is my first time making a proper character from concept to finished in-game model and will thus appreciate any and all feedback. It's going to be a rough journey to get this done and I would love tips and tricks on how to improve my workflow and pipeline to make it in time with a high standard : )

Most recent update:

divisionRender01.jpg

Replies

• ysalex
    Offline / Send Message
    ysalex interpolator
    This is a great place to get that feedback, good luck and looking forward to seeing what you do.
  • Pisciel
    ysalex: Thanks a lot! I'm looking forward to it :)

Here is my initial concept. I chose to use myself as reference since it's close at hand at any time I might need it. Precious time is precious~
    Since I need to start working on my high poly asap, I will refrain from making any major changes in the design. I am contemplating on what parts I can skip taking along in the end to save myself extra workload and time. For now I'm thinking at least the basic outfit, kneepads and backpack to give the model weight and shape. What do you think?

small.jpg
  • ysalex
    Offline / Send Message
    ysalex interpolator