Home Contests & Challenges Archives

ESCAPE - Dangerous Earth - Swizzle

polycounter lvl 15
Offline / Send Message
Swizzle polycounter lvl 15
Been wanting to try some stuff with post processing and animated materials for a while, so this seems like a good time to go nuts with that kind of thing. I'm a character artist by trade, but I've been wanting to tackle a smallish environment with some nice style and composition.

I hacked together a quick concept between yesterday and this morning:

pc_comp_concept_002_large.jpg

It has its fair share of problems, but it at least gets across a lot of the ideas I'm looking for. I want to the end result to look like people are evacuating a planet because it's quickly becoming uninhabitable, hence the rocket trails. And, of course, there's a ton of post-process shit like lens flares, glow, lens dirt, film grain, vignetting, etc.

Replies

• Lord Fryingpan
    Offline / Send Message
    Lord Fryingpan polycounter lvl 12
    Oh boy, can't wait to see where this goes.
  • Zipfinator
    Offline / Send Message
    Zipfinator polycounter lvl 9
    I see the face!

You may want to have one of the rockets visible in the shot like it just took off because at first I thought they were meteors crashing into the planet rather than rockets escaping. The orange in the sky helps show they're taking off but having one visible would convey it better.
  • S2Engine
    Offline / Send Message
    S2Engine polycounter lvl 10
    Very cool! This reminds me of Vulcan in JJ's Star Trek.
  • duncan
    Offline / Send Message
    duncan polycounter lvl 11
    AWESOME! We ALL know you are a kick ass character artist so now I am really pumped to see how rad this is gonna turn out........ just between you and me.... I think you are gonna kick ass at enviro art too.

Keen for some more.
  • BenHenry
    Offline / Send Message
    BenHenry polycounter lvl 11
    Can't wait to see where this goes! Love it :D
  • Pixelpencil