Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Hand-Painted Textures (crtis needed)

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
ayoub44 polycounter lvl 10
Hello
I'm new at making hand-painted textures , so I'm now trying to learn how to paint some nice textures.
i hope to get some crits or paint-over from you guys so i can learn new stuff :)

so here is the first texture:

01brick.jpg

crits welcome ! thanks you :)

Replies

• mikhga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    mikhga polycounter lvl 8
    Looks like a good start, the tiling works nicely. However, it's currently a little too bland, if you introduce some more colour variations on each individual stone it'll probably look better. Also, it seems it lacks a consistent light direction, I tend to paint all my textures as if the light comes from a 45 degree angle at the top right corner of my texture.

The texture could also use some more contrast in the shadows I think, to make the texture pop more, and the colour of the shadows I'm not too sure of, they look too yellow now for my taste.

Just keep on painting!
  • xXm0RpH3usXx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    xXm0RpH3usXx polycounter lvl 13
    i think the yellow is supposed to be light, not shadow?
    i agree with mikhga, though, more color variation would be nice, also some more depth variation.
    it seems you are directly going in painting the lines, then the highlights and shadows. try to work with bigger brushes first, block out your colors, than gradually go down with smaller brushes.
  • M.Palko
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    M.Palko polycounter lvl 4
    It's a good start, tiles very nicely! It definately needs some variation from brick to brick to make them a bit more visible. I'd recommend just brightening or darkening each brick a smidge. I'd also give it a little bit of color overall, it looks almost completely desaturated, probably a blue hue would be best.
  • ayoub44
    Options
    Offline / Send Message