Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

3D hand painted model from concept of Monster Life

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
FemCharles greentooth
Hi!

This is my first time posting work on Polycount. Now i have joined i plan on posting everything i work on to gather feedback,crit and learn new techniques which will hopefully make me a better artist!

I came across this concept from Monster Life by Veronique Meignaud. Website is here: http://www.v-meignaud.com

I just really loved this piece and wanted to make a 3D version. Project in total took around about 4 days work. All my textures are hand painted. This is a screen grab from Max. Model is just using diffuse texture and is vertex coloured.

Any feedback is welcome!

Replies

• circle of friends
    Offline / Send Message
    circle of friends polycounter lvl 10
    Very nice so far, you've captured it pretty well. I few things I'd change though if you want to match the concept a little better are:

Lighten up your shadows, the concept's shadows are really not all that dark. Also if you look at the wood behind the bench at the front it's lighter like it has dust or is fading in from the paint rather than being metal and then dark.

Make the roof a bit more uneven.

Make the soupy liquid more dynamic. I like that you've put in a splash behind the chopsticks but I think you could make it more like it's flying out the bowl. Don't be afraid to use a bit of alpha as it looks like it has it at the back.

Take some colour out of the grass underneath the hut. Your's looks like its sitting on top of it a bit unnaturally because its the same uniform grass where as on the concept its more muddied and possibly a bit darker so it sits well.

These are all quite minor crits though, nice job
  • FemCharles
    Offline / Send Message
    FemCharles greentooth
    Yeah i agree with all those points!