Home General Discussion

Should i change my tools?

KnechtRuprecht
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
KnechtRuprecht polycounter lvl 6
First I want so say Hi, i'm lurking around in this great forum for a year or so, but i never registered.
Since 1 and a half years i'm working with Blender and Gimp, because I'm an student and can't afford the expensive tools. It worked a quite while good with blender, but in the last time i missed more and more (working) tools which Max has. A few days ago i stumbled over the fact, that 3dsMax is free for students, in a limited way.
I watched a few tuts of how to work with max and it a quite big difference to blender, regarding the shortcut, the many new cool tools the different layout and the different workflow.
The same problem has Gimp, too. Although i love open source and free programms (who dont :D ) i would hear your opinion regarding this issue.
Should I change my software and learn new Programms?

Greetings Moritz

Btw: please ignore faults in my spelling or worng vocabulary, i'm not an native english speaker :)

Replies

• xrg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    xrg polycounter lvl 10
    Blender user here - I say if it's within your reach get whatever you can, and learn it. You're only limiting yourself if you don't. Knowing 3ds Max is really beneficial as far as getting a job.

All the Open Source stuff will always be free so you can still fall back on it if you want.
  • ChaosEidolon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ChaosEidolon polycounter lvl 17
    If your goal is to work in the games industry, then I would say yes, absolutely.

Every single studio will require that you have some level of proficiency in either 3dStudio max or Maya, so I would pick one of those and learn it. It can be a bit daunting because they are full production suites and do everything from modeling to FX to rendering, but just focus in on what you need to know for you specialty and you should be fine.