Home Technical Talk

Normal Map Produces Ugly Seams

NumberSlayer
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
NumberSlayer polycounter lvl 9
Hey guys I've been having a huge problem with every normal map I have baked to date. I'm fairly new to this stuff so I'm sure I must be missing something. Every normal map I bake, regardless of method used (Subdivision in zbrush or Cage in 3ds max and xnormal), ends up having the normal map completely flipped at the seams of the model. When I render the seams clearly stick out and look hideous. Here are some examples I have taken from 3ds max.

Here is the normal map laid out on the model as a diffuse. You can clearly see that the normals are not matching up at the seams.

boF4N.png
jyHBt.png

lIowb.png
XZ6sR.png

Here is a picture of the normal map itself with the UV setup I have for the model that I made in zbrush.

K82ea.png

I'm not sure what I am doing wrong here. I don't think its because of my UV coordinates. My diffuse maps turn out just fine. I have tried flipping the channels in Photoshop with little success. I tried changing the shading groups on the low poly model in 3ds max as well but still no fix. Please I need help fixing these seams because I am all out of ideas.

Replies

• lloyd
    Hello NumberSlayer, Welcome to Polycount,

Are you using Max 2013? as it has some view port issues with normals, also how are you displaying them in the viewport? bump map slot?

I'm guessing its all in 1 smoothing group?

also if you upload the model and file we could take a look and see what's causing the issue.

If you don't want to share your model, try taking it into another engine to display.
    Such as Marmoset: http://www.marmoset.co/

One other thing you could try is using XoliulShader, however because that works in max, if you're using 2013 it too will be broke,
    Laurens was nice enough to address this issue in the XoliulShader thread, you can find more info here: