Home Technical Talk

ENVO realtime environment shader for 3d studio max

Hi guys. I guess this is my first post here.

So, I'm Aurel Manea and lead 3d studio artist for Gameloft studio in Romania and Eastern Europe, but technically I'm more on the technical side of the 3d realm.
This is my first attempt of a shader that is no work specific and tries to fill a void that I found in the realtime shader world for 3d max.
That is a shader that is the equivalent of Xoliul for prebaked lightmap based scenes.

Why ? Because I found that the result while rendering with v-ray are much better than any global illumination engine for Unreal or Unity.

It is made with shader FX as I don't have enough knowledge or pacience for something this much :)

You can find out more and download it along with a sample scene from my website:

http://www.aurelm.com/envo/

envo_shader_07.jpg

envo_shader_06.jpg

Replies

• Xoliul
    Offline / Send Message
    Xoliul polycounter lvl 14
    Hey this is cool man! I'm wondering, have you solved the issue of normalmaps and specular? Biggest issue I saw with that was requiring special bakes to be able to do those two...
  • Eric Chadwick
  • aurelm
    Hi and thank you for the quick reply.
    What is the problem you are talking about ? You mean the issue when working with lightmaps that you need to store the light normals in another map ?
    If so, no, I did not even concern myself with it.
  • Hang10
    Definitely going to try this out
  • Eric Chadwick
    Xoliul... radiosity normal mapping?
  • aurelm
    Also thank you Eric for adding the shader to the Wiki

Regarding the Normal Maps the shader mostly uses normal maps for the cubemaps, the extra light (lights soon) are just a cherry on top that I'm not sure it's necessary.