Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] - Iris the Witch

Hello everyone,

I'm new here and yes I am a student and I would really appreciate as much help as I can get. :)

I am currently working on a 6 week project with a tri limit of 12000-15000.

Week 1 - Concepting
Week 2/3 - Modelling/Sculpting
Week 4 - Texturing
Week 5 - Rigging and Animation
Week 6 - Polishing and Final Submission

So I have been fussing between two characters but definitely locked myself with Iris.

A little back story on my character, Iris. She is a witch who can manipulate people with spider-silk. I didn't want to make her too spider-like and creepy because initially she was human and I want to retain her humanoid form.

Please note I am going for a slightly stylized form and I would really appreciate any motivating and constructive feedback. :)

Here are my sketches:

eODfE.jpg?1

C10o2.jpg

Iris coloured and with silhouette
YtJRy.png

Bust, doodles and body shape
hTc5W.png

This was actually the original drawing I started with and trailed off into colouring the background
WyoUq.jpg

Just a little extra. If anyone was curious about my other idea. I was going to make a forest fairy. Here are the drawings I made:

3ehyP.jpg

wABRi.png

Replies

• uncle
    As long as I hate most animu I somehow really like the latter design. I'd give her slightly more defined hips, apart from that everything looks fine.
    Iris overall looks very childish/insecure due to her expressions and anatomy, personally I think it doesn't fit this type of character - but maybe that's your intention. She reminds me of another similar character, not too original really (bat wings in hair!). I'm not sure if the purpose spider web wings is clear - does she fly or are they ornamental? Think if this could be improved.
    Apart from that I think it's okay, cheers.
  • JenLimson