Home General Discussion

The Ramifications of not learning Sculpting Programs?

I have been studying how to model things for at least 6 years, I do all my modeling in 3Ds Max. Max is a program I know very well and I would rather not change all though I'm sure I could to similar programs. But Zbrush and Mudbox are completely different tools, I figured because I do not model organic things too much like Characters that I can just ignore them and continue to fine tune my skills in Max.

My question though, if I continue to go down this path of learning 3D modeling and art by not learning how to use Zbrush/Mudbox, will I never succeed as a game artist?

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    Besides organic modeling, you are also missing out on great blockout tools by ignoring Z and Mud. They let you throw together reference shapes very easily, and thats a huge advantage for mechanical modeling.

Why wouldn't you want to be curious about these programs anyways ? Mudbox takes about an hour to learn.
  • SurlyBird
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SurlyBird polycounter lvl 13
    At least familiarize yourself with the workflow. You might surprise yourself with what you find.
  • Gestalt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Gestalt polycounter lvl 11
    Sculpting has a pretty significant place within 3D. Why would you not at least learn the basics of it? It really isn't a tall order to learn the basics of it. Knowing the sculpting tools and the potential of what they have to offer should be something that I'd think you'd want, no?

Sculptris is free and it has similar navigation to ZBrush. You can get a good feel for sculpting using it, and probably learn a lot about form in a way that you wouldn't with poly modeling. You say you do hard-surfaces but why wouldn't you want to be able to do organics?
  • Bibendum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message