Home General Discussion

Lighting dissertation

Hi,
I'm currently in my final year of my university degree. The degree is a computer games modelling and animation BA (Hons) degree and I've been working on my dissertation for a while, I'm already finished with the literature review but I've got a major issue; I hate my topic. I'm doing it on using education theory to improve training material for lighting. I chose my topic because I wanted to do something on lighting and I still do, but I want to rethink the focus of it. I'd be really really grateful if someone could give me a few suggestions on interesting lighting topics I could focus on instead of training material. Something a bit more artistic if possible. I just need something to get me going again before I try to murder my dissertation...

Cheers for any help, I really need it :)

Replies

• Wesley
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Wesley polycounter lvl 13
    My friend is doing a dissertation on how lighting affects player navigation through an environment. Kinda cool... also Portal 2 does that super-well.
  • Jenny
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cheers, sounds interesting, I'll look into stuff like that and see if it gives me any ides, don't want to do the exact same thing I know someone else is doing but works as a starting point :)
  • glynnsmith
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    glynnsmith polycounter lvl 17
    There's more of what Wesley suggested in the commentaries for Left 4 Dead, if it interests you. Well worth watching.
  • Wesley
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Wesley polycounter lvl 13
    Jenny wrote: »
    Cheers, sounds interesting, I'll look into stuff like that and see if it gives me any ides, don't want to do the exact same thing I know someone else is doing but works as a starting point :)

Yeah you can go in a bunch of different directions with it. I think my friend's focuses on replication of real-world way-point lighting in games.