Home Unreal Engine

Need advice on UV for vehicle - UDK

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
gannonroader polycounter lvl 8
I'm working on my portfolio and one of my personal tasks is to make a vehicle, rig it, and bring it into udk as a driveable vehicle. I finished the model, but now i'm wondering if there is any method to laying out my UV's that I might not know before I start. Should I break the vehicle up into several seperate objects and UV them all seperately? If so which ones, and how many? I've never done this before so consider me a newb and offer any advice that you wish someone told you the first time you tried this. I'm working on a very tight deadline with all of my tasks so I don't want to waste a single minute.

Thanks a million in advance for any helpful advice

Here is my vehicle.
http://s647.photobucket.com/albums/uu192/gannonroader/?action=view¤t=LAVIII_Wireframe.jpg

?action=view&current=LAVIII_Wireframe.jpg

Replies

• gannonroader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Really? Nobody? I can't imagine it would take more than 2 minutes of your time.
  • passerby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    just start UVing it, if you hit a problem find a different way to do it, or ask about the specific problem.
  • m4dcow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    m4dcow interpolator
    It maybe tempting to split the vehicle down the middle but UDK has alot of issues with those kinds of splits (Lighting, Specular etc..) even if you don't have any splits.

So you might want to overlay whole objects like the tires, hatches, railings etc...
  • Ken Benson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well hopefully you're done unwrapping it by now, but...

I'd start by deleting every element but 1 that's identical (tires, hatch, back compartment, mirrors, lights, ...)
    Then I'd unwrap. If you don't technically know how to do this I suggest a video tutorial search. It would take far to long to type out.