Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

New Here

Hi everyone, I'm new here. I'm don't have many pieces of 3D artwork to show, as I am not an artist. I simply signed up to post my progress as I work towards improving my skills.

My name is Shelby Smith. I'm 16, and I make games. I've been designing my dream game in between my current projects - it is a 3D game, so that requires 3D models (duh). As I desire to do this myself, I have no choice but to learn to create 3D models.

I plan on showing my stuff here as I learn to create 3D models and texturing them. I will be using Blender for now (open source yo).

As a game developer who grew up with low poly models, those sorts of games largely inspire me art-wise.

Some examples:

Soul Edge/Blade
http://ui08.gamefaqs.com/2087/gfs_10157_2_16.jpg

Jet Set/Grind Radio
http://www.gamefaqs.com/dreamcast/197687-jet-grind-radio/images/gs_screen-53

Tenchu: Stealth Assassins

http://image.com.com/gamespot/images/screenshots/1/198911/tenchu_screen006.jpg

I love the graphical styles of these games, if only they were a little clearer...

Anyway, it's nice to be here.

Here's my website with my games and such: http://shelbymead.com/wordpress/

Replies

• Snader
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15
    First of all, welcome.

Second, you might already have seen this, but definitely check out the lowpoly thread. It's relevant to your interests.
  • thatshelby
    Snader wrote: »
    First of all, welcome.

Second, you might already have seen this, but definitely check out the lowpoly thread. It's relevant to your interests.

Yes, I've seen the lowpoly thread (and snagged a few of these delicious low-poly models for my Inspiration folder). Kudos.

I've finished modeling a mushroom after about 1 hours work. It was looking pretty lame but I seem to have fixed it. Time to unwrap, texture, and render baybay.
  • praetor187
    Offline / Send Message
    praetor187 polycounter lvl 11