Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Worklog. BreaK-

Hi guys, after a long time from doing anything 2D or 3D I've decided to open up maya and photoshop again and do some work. Its been 4 years since I graduated university so I'm expecting to be massively rusty in both areas. My 3D work is much stronger than my 2D, so I'm hoping to improve in both areas but especially 2D, mostly through texture work.

Anyway, to ease myself in I thought I'd follow a couple of texturing tutorials and model something pretty basic, that would be easy to bake from high to low.

Heres what I've got.

FullDisplay.jpg

FramingSheet.jpg

Modelling

I made 2 different sized models, the one in the picture above is 500 tris and the picture below is 160 tris. I have no idea what the average tris count for a barrel is but I've done both anyway. (Im suspecting its probably more round the 80 - 100 tris count).

Texturing

Again I'm thinking most barrels use a 512x512 texture size in game, so I might go back and lower mine from a 1024x1024.

I've never attempted a Gloss map before so It may need some tweaking, I'm hoping you guys may be able to give me a few pointers on that. Im also not too happy with the spec, but I've messed about with it for a few hours and this is the best result. I think it looks ok in Marmoset anyway. :\

At the minute I think its done, but I'm sure you guys will give me some crit to get back working on this! I know its nothing compared with some of the wonderful art on this forum but I'm taking it slow and trying to get some basic skills down.

Cheers guys.

Replies

• BreaK-
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ok, moving on from metal I want to practice concrete textures, and hopefully a little bit of ZBrush. I've never really used ZBrush so Its going to be a difficult learning experience.