Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

RPG-7

Dismembered
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Dismembered polycounter lvl 9
So this is my first attempt at modeling a weapon. I used a few different references. And because I could find a set of references showing all of the parts good I pieced them together a bit trying to make it look right. Here and here are the two main references I used, I had many others that I used as well.

I plan to do the rocket itself, but before I started on it I thought it might be a good idea to get feedback on the weapon itself.

Seeing as this is my first attempt at a weapon I am looking for any and all advice when it comes to the LP and textures. As far as its purpose, it is mainly to be a portfolio piece.

Thanks for taking a look.

RPG_HP.jpg

Replies

• razvanimation
    From what I can see right now it's mostly spot on. Great job. Some little issues that bother me are the middle visor thing that could be sharper on the edges and probably thicker. Also, if you're planing on going for the old rusty version of this, you could take the front piece and rotate it 2-5 degrees where it connects to the other part to show usage - like the first pic you are using as reference.
  • Dismembered
    Offline / Send Message
    @razvanimation - Thanks for the reply, and I think I address the area you were referring to being to skinny. I think am going to texture this as relatively new, but obviously used, if that makes any sense at all.

The rocket took me longer to get to then I wanted. I was able to finally able to start it today and put some time in to finish it.

Since I am new to weapons I asked around about poly count for this, but I am not sure that I made it clear that I was intending to do the rocket as well. I was told a tri count of about 10k would be good for the gun itself, I am assuming 15k is a better budget for the gun and rocket?