Home General Discussion

Building new PC

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Fnitrox polycounter lvl 6
Ok so i've been lurking here on the forum for quite a bit now and finally decided to post. My name is Francesco and I'm an italian student who got bored of his almost complete architecture degree and decided to go for something i always liked more... videogames art.

enough with the presentation... I'm in the process of choosing parts for my new pc and i'd like to know something about requirements for software like Zbrush and Mudbox.

Question is how much RAM is necessary for those applications when using really high polycount models?
and I don't mean in terms of home work in preparation for getting in the industry, i actually mean how powerful are rigs used in software houses.

Of course i won't be getting a nasa workstation or anything close but since i won't be upgrading in a couple of years i really want to get the best i can with my budget (witch is not really low luckly atm)

Also is it worth getting a Nvdia Quadro video card or would a GTX 570/ ATI6970 suffice? maybe to expand it to crossfire/sli in the future

Replies

• eld
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    eld polycounter lvl 18
    Don't go for quadro, ever, it can be summarized as a waste of money for a game artist.

As for memory, 8gb should be sufficient for a modern computer and working with something like zbrush.
  • Entity
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Entity polycounter lvl 18
    Get an nvidia card if you're going to use it for work, much better drivers when it comes to compatibility with Max, Maya, Marmoset etc. Stay away from Quadros if all you're going to do is videogame art, use that money to get a beefy CPU. An i7 would serve you well, and it kicks ass when rendering too.
  • Fnitrox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thank you for your replies!

so i was already leaning for a nvidia non quadro card and this will be my final rig then

CPU: Intel i7 2600k