Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Waterwheel [Environment Art / Scene]

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Butthair polycounter lvl 11
Hello everyone here at polycount. For awhile now I've only looked at the amazing pieces here in these forums. Now, I can finally present the begins of my own.

It is a great place to get brutal honest criticism and I hope none of you hold back. I am a student and have only begun the large exploration of creating complete pieces.

Anyways, this piece is from a concept done by Levi Hopkins for a game called Guild Wars. I obsess over most of the concepts from the many artists over at ArenaNet. Now I have found I piece that I think I can take on.

Here is the concept piece.
CentaurWaterWheel.jpg

And here is what I have so far. It is mostly a block out of the scene, no effects or fancy stuff yet. I intend to make this modular, hopefully using about 4 texture pages. The focus is on modularity which the scene is primarily made up of.

The scene will be built mostly in Max then combined in UDK along with all the fancy stuff. As for the textures, I'm currently working on them using zBrush.

More on that later, but right now, here's a quick render of what I have so far. If it looks too low poly, that is because guild wars is fairly low poly. At the same time, given the progressive nature of the industry, I may refine it higher with the intention on next gen games. In a word, I am uncertain.

Alright, the scene.
CentaurWaterwheel_Beauty_01.png?w=1d70b6a0

Replies

• letronrael
  • Wombatinahat
    Its a sweet concept but it seems you forgot to add you scene. Looks like a sweet project tho.
  • tharle
    Offline / Send Message
    tharle polycounter lvl 9
    this is a fantastic piece of concept art - in rotation as one of my backgrounds. i'm going to be doing a similar big project soon and i also choose to do this one myself!

looking forward to seeing it when you remember to post it :D
  • Wonkey
    Offline / Send Message