Home Technical Talk

UDK material question

GavinUnit
polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
GavinUnit polycounter lvl 14
If I need to connect both a TexCoord and a BumpOffset into the UVs of a TextureSample, how would I go about doing so? I figured I could just Add both of them together then run them in, but that didn't work out (I'm still learning UDK, haha).

Sorry for asking such a stupid question, but I've tried searching this up and simply CANNOT find an answer. I seem to waste majority of my days just searching for answers.

Thanks for any help :)

Replies

• Zipfinator
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zipfinator polycounter lvl 9
    I haven't been using UDK very long, but maybe try using Append or Add to combine the two into one.
  • haiddasalami
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    haiddasalami polycounter lvl 14
    The Tex Coord goes into the Bump Offset which goes into the Texture UV's slot.

BumpOffsetExample.jpg

Plug a texcoord into the coordinate slot. You can also have more than one Texcoord nodes. The materials compendium page on UDN is great to reference for materials and shaders.

http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/MaterialsCompendium.html#BumpOffset
  • ParoXum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ParoXum polycounter lvl 9
    Isnt there a UV coordinate node-in on the bump offset? In which case you just plug in the texcoord into bumpb offset then into the sample.
    Edit: wow, minute instant grill
  • GavinUnit
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Add works in the sense that it puts the two functions together, but it doesn't apply the TexCoord (tiling texture repetition) to the BumpOffset.
    So I get the texture tiling like I need it to, and I get the bump offset affect I need, but I need the BumpOffset to apply the TexCoord values to itself aswell.

Thanks for the quick reply :D

***Edit
    Ah, a bunch more replies, yay!
    I'll take a picture to show you guys my situation.
  • fearian
    Options