Home General Discussion

Seeking Advice on entering the Gaming world, post college.

First and very foremost: I AM SORRY!

I have been to many forums, viewed previous posts along the lines of mine before and I know and understand how tiring seeing 'One Of These Posts' pop up again. I apologize upfront, but I am approaching desperation and am doing everything I can to get my questions answered. I'm sorry for this again, but I still hope that you take the time from your busy day to assist me in any way possible. :)

Goal: A career in GAME DESIGN. I know this is more the art/model/film crowd, but in looking through the job Census roll call, I see plenty of industry workers here who I hope can shed some light on this regardless

A little (possibly unnecessary) history on me, I graduated college in 2009 with a Bachelor's in Virtual Technology and Design, and two associates in Art and Film. It's 2011 and my three degrees have earned me nothing more than a minimum wage job as a register button pusher, and all resumes have returned stark silence from my prospective employers.

I fear that a great deal of doors and chances have already closed to me. It seems that all Game Designer positions want some form of industry experience. I don't have any experience besides the projects I was handed in classrooms as well as the Senior projects, but those were almost universally handled in groups. Internships aren't a feasible option since I am out of college and almost all Internship positions I look at generally want you to still be in college to be considered, not already graduated.

I have even considered going in LOW entry level, as a QA Game Tester, but every resource I encounter (as well as every silent reply to my Tester resumes) show that most companies don't hire simple In-studio game testers from out of state/city/country.